Chakras 101: Sahaswara, The Crown Chakra

Today's Chakra Mantra is focused on the Crown Seventh Chakra. These mantras are something that anyone can do and no yoga poses are required.

The chakras are the seven main energy centers in the body where we receive, absorb and distribute life energies. They are located along the spine, starting at the base and running upwards to the crown of the head. The chakras are described as “whirling wheels of light” and each chakra radiates a specific color and energy. Each chakra relates to specific spiritual, emotional, psychological, and physical issues. Balancing these energy centers leads to our well-being.

These seven chakras can become blocked through external situations and internal habits such as long-held tension in the body or staying stuck in our thoughts about things past or constant worry about the future. As a result a chakra can become either deficient or excessive. Therefore this chakra is imbalanced. Practicing mantras that correspond to each chakra can release these blocks and clear the path to more joyful living. 

Sahaswara, The Crown Chakra

About Crown Chakra:

“In physics, a singularity is a point of infinite density and infinitesimal volume. Singularities exist at the center of black holes, which are regions of space that have a gravitational field so intense that no matter or radiation can escape. Likewise, the pull of your purpose combined with your core priorities is so intense, so massive; that nothing you do can escape its influence. Every thought you have, every decision you make, and every action you take is pulled by this force.” – Isaiah Hankel from Black Hole Focus

The seventh chakra is depicted as a fully blooming, thousand-petaled lotus flower at the crown of your head. The roots of this lotus flower are connected to the Earth and its petals stem out from the crown and flow back down through the chakras as a stream of higher wisdom and awareness. This chakra is about understanding our true purpose and connecting it with pure consciousness. This singularity is powered through the crown chakra (Sahasrara) so you are able to tune in to higher frequencies and you can receive guidance from your guides (non-physical beings) and intelligence from other frequencies to live your dharma.

It is here that we begin to expand awareness, pay attention without assigning thoughts, feelings or expectations, and find deeper meaning in all our experiences. Meditation helps us maintain the internal spiritual cleansing necessary for this chakra to remain unblocked. Otherwise, if blocked we are unhappy but don’t really understand why, even if we have “everything.”

We have learned that meditating on the Crown Chakra will open the door to a stronger understanding and intuitive knowledge of your inner spirit. As a result you will experience the universal connection within all beings and strengthen your spirit through its infinite JOY which yoga tells us is our true nature. Joy is our birthright!

This chakra is about understanding our true purpose and connecting it with pure consciousness.

Name: Sahasrara, Sahasrara is the Sanskrit word for "thousand fold."

Location: Top of the head, or two inches above the cerebral cortex

Intention: Liberation

Your rights: Right to Know

Self-work: Self-Knowledge

Mantra: I am aware.

Color: Violet or white

Element: Thought

Sense: Intelligence, also called the seventh sense

Healing Stones: Quartz, diamond, white amethyst


Basic Issues: Awareness, wwareness of body, awareness of awareness, witness consciousness, releasing attachment, knowledge, beliefs, consciousness, spirituality, bliss, understanding, transcendence, truth, reality

Characteristics When Out of Balance: Attachment, confusion, overly intellectual, spiritual addiction, or skepticism

Excessive: Over intellectualization, spiritual addiction, confusion, dissociation from body

Deficient: Spiritual cynicism, rigid belief systems, apathy, excess in lower chakras: greed, materialism

Physiological form and functions: Muscular system, skeletal system, skin and central nervous system

Emotional or spiritual functions: Spiritual search for meaning, issues of karma and grace, spiritual awakening, divine discontent

Linked to: God/goddess, the creator, search for purpose and meaning in life, discovering ethics, unconditional love, symbolic vision, ultimate liberation

Seventh Shakra Mantras

  • May I live in the present moment
  • The world is my teacher
  • I trust my guides to help me
  • Love surrounds, nourishes and protects me
  • I receive and welcome the intuition of my inner spirit.
  • I recognize the limitless potential of my body, mind, and spirit.
  • I trust the universe knows what its doing
  • I am open, empty and free so love may flow through me
  • I am guided by inner wisdom
  • I am open to the joy of my universal connection to all beings
  • I don’t have to do it by myself
  • I am open to new ideas
  • Information I need comes to me
  • May I have a clear and open connection with source energy (spirit)
  • I allow the light to flow through my being, enlightening my spirit.

Silvia Mordini is leading an upcoming Bali Yoga Teacher Training October 1-22, 2106 with scholarships of $1,000 available. ​Find more information here


Writer. Happiness Coach. Love Alchemis

Style of Yoga: Spiritual Vinyasa * Inspired * Playful * Mystical

Silvia Mordini is a Writer, Happiness Coach and internationally recognized Yoga Presenter. Her expert passion connects people to their own joyful potential. Born in Ecuador, proud of her Italian heritage and raised as a world traveler, Silvia developed a sense of global...READ MORE